The Director of the Budget is Adam Proffitt.  The office is staffed by professional budget analysts who analyze state agency budgets and perform other duties as needed. These include monitoring cashflow of the State General Fund and other funds, staffing various committees and taskforces, and performing policy analysis on specific issues. The Division also has one administrative staff member who provides purchasing, personnel, scheduling and other support. To send email to an individual, click on the appropriate name. All Division staff can be reached at (785) 296-2436.

Julie Thomas
Deputy Director

Board of Healing Arts
Health Care Stabilization
Board of Hearing Aid Examiners
Board of Pharmacy

State General Fund Planning Report
iBARS (budget system) Administrator
Children’s Initiatives Fund Coordinator

Jeff Arpin
Principal Analyst

Governor/Lt. Governor
Kansas Public Employees Retirement System
Legislative Agencies
Department of Education
School for the Blind
School for the Deaf
Board of Mortuary Arts

Website & Technology Coordinator
Staff Training/Professional Development

Konnie Leffler
Principal Analyst

Department of Agriculture
Secretary of State
Kansas Water Office
Kansas Corporation Commission
Citizens Utility Ratepayer Board
Board of Cosmetology
Board of Barbering
Kansas State Fair
Comm. on Peace Officers Standards & Training
Board of Veterinary Examiners

State Water Plan Fund Coordinator
Demographic Coordinator

Sean Tomb
Principal Analyst

Department of Revenue
State Treasurer
Pooled Money Investment Board
Board of Tax Appeals
Racing & Gaming Commission
Real Estate Appraisal Board
Real Estate Commission

Tax Policy
Cash Management
State General Fund Revenue Estimates
Exp. Lottery Act Rev. Fund Coordinator

Vacant Position

Department of Health & Environment
Department of Labor
Veterans Affairs Office
Board of Abstracters
Human Rights Commission
Dental Board

Performance Based Budgeting
Debt Service Coordinator

Financial Disclosure & Reporting
iBARS (budget system) Administrator Backup



John Kirk
Principal Analyst

Department of Administration
Office of Information Technology Services
Office of Administrative Hearings
Department of Transportation
Department of Commerce
Judicial Council
Governmental Ethics

Econ. Dev. Initiatives Fund Coordinator
Capital Budget
Legislative Tracking

Sheena Ward
Principal Analyst

Board of Regents
Regents Universities
Kansas Historical Society
State Library
Sentencing Commission
Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board
Board of Examiners in Optometry

Federal Funds Coordinator
Agency Training Coordinator

Bill Schafer
Principal Analyst

Department for Children & Families
Department for Aging & Disability Services
State Hospitals
Board of Nursing
Board of Technical Professions

Legislative Tracking



Leyton Gunn
Budget Analyst II

Department of Corections
Correctional Facilities
Juvenile Correctional Facilities
Fire Marshal
Highway Patrol

Performance Based Budgeting
Legislative Tracking Backup

Cheri Froetschner
Principal Analyst

Adjutant General
Attorney General
Wildlife, Parks & Tourism,
Kansas Bureau of Investigation
Board of Indigents Defense
Insurance Department
Credit Unions

State General Fund Insurance Premiums
Legislative Tracking Backup
iBARS (budget system) Administrator Backup

Shelly Davis
Executive Assistant